Determine if TeamReview was installed

Aug 2, 2010 at 3:04 AM

We had a consulting company upgrading our TFS to 2010.  One of the tasks was to install TeamReview.  How can I verify if TeamReview was installed?

Thanks for any information provided.

Oscar Bautista

Aug 2, 2010 at 3:08 AM

Hi Oscar,

You should have a Code Item work item type available in the team project.

ie. try to create a work item, that is "Code Item"

Aug 2, 2010 at 3:13 AM

When I go to create a new work item (in one of our 10 Team Projects) I have the following work item types.  I do not see a "Code Item".  Not sure if "Code Review" or "Review" is the TeamReview work item. 

  • Bug
  • Change Request
  • Code Review
  • Issue
  • Requirement
  • Review
  • Risk
  • Shared Steps
  • Task
  • Test Case
Aug 2, 2010 at 3:36 AM

So it turns out "Code Review" is the TeamReview work item type.  I am trying to mock an example of using this Work Item, but I cannot get it to work.  I have created a Solution with some code.  When I highlight a line of code and right-click on - it I do not see the "TeamReview" item, as displayed in the Video shown on the TeamReview CodePlex site.  Am I missing a step.

Thanks again....

Aug 2, 2010 at 3:49 AM

"Code Item" is the new named work item type. "Code review" is the old name. Both are the same.

You have installed the TeamReview Visual Studio Add-in?

Please ensure the solution is checked-in. Check it in, close and re-open the solution.

The Visual Studio output window will display the following at start of Visual Studio :-

TeamReview: 1.1.3.0
Visit: http://TeamReview.codeplex.com
Visual Studio Solution is not open

Aug 2, 2010 at 4:04 AM

Thanks for the response.  I figured out that 9 of my 10 Team Projects show "Code Review" work item type, but one of them doesnt.  How can I add it to this Team Project?  I am thinking that this Team Project was created before the TeamReview work item was added.

Thanks...

Aug 2, 2010 at 4:09 AM

Have a TFS administrator perform a witimport of the work item xml file into the team project.

==================================================================

C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\VC>witimport
Microsoft (R) Visual Studio Team System.
Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

Imports a work item type XML definition file into a Team Project on a Team
Foundation Server.  The imported definition will overwrite any existing work
item type with the same name.  If the work item type does not already exist,
a new work item type will be created.

Use:

witimport /f file /t TeamFoundationServer /p teamproject [/v] [/e encoding]

/f        Specifies the work item type XML definition file to be imported.
/t        Specifies the name of the Team Foundation Server. This can also be a
          fully specified URL such as http://server:8080.
/p        Specifies the Team Project on the Team Foundation Server to which the
          file is imported.
/v        Validates the XML without importing the work item type.
/e        Specifies the name of the .NET Framework 2.0 encoding used to import
          the work item type XML.  For example, /e utf-7 will use Unicode
          (UTF-7) encoding.  Encoding is auto-detected by default where
          possible.  If unavailable, encoding defaults to UTF-8.

Aug 2, 2010 at 4:16 AM

 

Thanks again.  What is the difference between Code Item and Code Review Response? 

Aug 2, 2010 at 4:23 AM

What I wrote above. At this stage only the name, use a comparsion/diff program and compare the xml files.

Use the name that matches what you already have installed.

Aug 4, 2010 at 2:22 AM

Hi - I want to add a correction to this thread in case anyone new reads it.

The work item type "Code Review" is not from TeamReview, and never has been; it's from a different open source project - "TFS Code Review Workflow"

TeamReview has had 2 work item types in it's lifetime

  1. The "old" one = "Code Review Response"
  2. The "new" one = "Code Item"

Please read the "readme.txt" file in any TeamReview download to know which of the 2 you should use.

JB