Intergation with VS.NET 2012

Jun 22, 2012 at 7:49 PM

We have just updated out IDE to vs.net 2012 but still have TFS 2010.....has anyone got TeamReview to load into vs.net 2012 successfully?

Thanks

 

 

Coordinator
Jun 28, 2012 at 12:16 AM
Edited Jun 29, 2012 at 12:18 AM

Working on the code changes required for a VS2012 version. Might take a week or two.

Jun 28, 2012 at 4:19 PM

You mean vs.net 2012 within the near future, right?

Coordinator
Jun 29, 2012 at 12:19 AM

Yes a VS2012 version

(Fixed typo above)

Aug 31, 2012 at 1:55 AM

hey guys....

Any status on this ?

Thanks

 

Oct 9, 2012 at 7:52 PM

This is longer than 2 weeks.  Has this project been abandoned?

Coordinator
Oct 9, 2012 at 10:24 PM

Sorry people, I haven't been able to devote time to this to-date.

There will be more driving influence on me when my workplace upgrades.

Feel free to volunteer and contribute.

Dec 11, 2012 at 3:36 AM
Edited Dec 13, 2012 at 2:53 PM

I have upgraded the solution to work with visual studio 2012, let me know how I can upload/mail the code to you.

I will be testing it the next couple of days, if no issues found I will just upload it to skydrive.

Coordinator
Dec 11, 2012 at 3:47 AM

I've contacted JB, will try and have you added as a contributor.

Failing that, host the code on a skydrive/cloud service/file host/ftp site of your choosing and I'll grab it.

Dec 13, 2012 at 2:19 PM

Ok, I am done with my testing and verified that it works with visual studio 2012. I plan to use sky drive let me know with which email I need to share it.

Dec 13, 2012 at 2:43 PM
Edited Dec 21, 2012 at 3:45 AM

Here is the path to the uploaded source files on skydrive

https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=F25BC8240852C4BA&id=F25BC8240852C4BA%21119

 

If you need only install file use the below link

https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=f25bc8240852c4ba#cid=F25BC8240852C4BA&id=F25BC8240852C4BA!251

Let me know if you run into issues in downloading the files or  installing the new version.

 

Thanks

Srinivasa Telukutla

Dec 19, 2012 at 11:02 AM
Edited Dec 19, 2012 at 11:07 AM

i did not run into any download issue . I downloaded the setup file. But that installation was unsuccessful.

Error: 1308. Source File Not found: C:\Program Files\TeamReview\TeamReview(2012)\TeamReview.ico.

   and so on.

  I  hope there is some problem with the installer

Dec 20, 2012 at 8:37 PM
Edited Dec 21, 2012 at 3:31 AM

BY using Install shield full version I managed to package it into a single MSI file.

Here is the path

https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=f25bc8240852c4ba#cid=F25BC8240852C4BA&id=F25BC8240852C4BA!251

You just need to download this one file and install using the msi.

Let me know if you run into any issues.

 

Dec 20, 2012 at 8:43 PM
Edited Dec 21, 2012 at 3:31 AM

BY using Install shield full version I managed to package it into a single MSI file.

Here is the path

https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=f25bc8240852c4ba#cid=F25BC8240852C4BA&id=F25BC8240852C4BA!251

You just need to download this one file and install using the msi.

Let me know if you run into any issues.

Feb 8, 2013 at 12:20 PM
I've downloaded and installed the msi on skydrive.

I'm a newbie to TeamReview. My experience with this 2012 version wasn't very good. I created a new review item....

I couldn't find a way of associating an shelveset - I could only associate with a changeset.

Once I had created the review item, then it did not appear in the "Review Code Items" toolbox window - either the window is not finding the review item I created, or the review item wasn't actually created when I pressed Save.

Has anyone else tried this 2012 port?
Feb 22, 2013 at 8:46 PM
Hi Corner22,

I don't think even the previous versions of this tool supported shelvesets.

After I made the changes, my team is using this with visual studio 2012 without any issues.

Can you please check/verify if you have selected the correct "query" and "link item" in the "review code Items" window?

Thanks
Sri
Mar 28, 2013 at 1:40 PM
I have recompiled to code to make it run with VS2012 and TFS2012. No big deal, if anyone is interested I can share the code.

Sorin
Apr 24, 2013 at 3:14 PM
thanks a lot, works perfectly


Andrés
Jul 5, 2013 at 10:10 AM
I've installed the msi from https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=f25bc8240852c4ba#cid=F25BC8240852C4BA&id=F25BC8240852C4BA!251
But where do I get the work item types? Do I use the 2010 version available on the codeplex download links?
Jul 15, 2013 at 9:32 AM
sritelukutla wrote:
BY using Install shield full version I managed to package it into a single MSI file. Here is the path https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=f25bc8240852c4ba#cid=F25BC8240852C4BA&id=F25BC8240852C4BA!251 You just need to download this one file and install using the msi. Let me know if you run into any issues.
Why not put it on the Codeplex page? https://teamreview.codeplex.com/releases/view/40528
Oct 18, 2013 at 3:14 PM
None of these links are active.
are there any versions for TFS and VS 2012 in the works?
Apr 6, 2014 at 7:47 AM
Hi SriTelukutla,

does it work with VS2013?

Thanks alot
May 16, 2014 at 9:01 PM
Edited May 16, 2014 at 9:02 PM
2012 works for us but now we want to move to 2013. I guess that means that I am going to have to figure out how to modify the 2012 installation to work with 2013. What specifies which VS the installation will run on? I've looked at the source code but the part of the solution that specifies which version of VS the installation will apply to eludes me.
May 19, 2014 at 9:28 PM
It turned out to be very easy to get 2013 to recognize and load TeamReview but the problem is it doesn't work. More on that momentarily.

Here's how to let VS 2013 know about an already existing VS 2012 TeamReview installation. First you need to know that TeamReview follows a slightly different pattern than the usual VS extension. Visual Studio is supposed to preload TeamReview at startup. This is accomplished by a level of indirection. The registry has a reference to a file. The contents of the file list include a reference to the TeamReview extension. When the extension loads it sucks in whatever other assemblies it needs and life is good, birds sing and wonderful things happen.

Here are the details of a VS2012 installation: In the registry (HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\VisualStudio\11.0\PreloadAddinStateManaged) there is a DWORD item whose name includes the path of a file (TeamReview.VSNetAddIn.Connect;C:\ProgramData\Application Data\Microsoft\MSEnvShared\Addins\TeamReview2012.VSNetAddIn.Addin). The DWORD item has a value of 2. This file contains information about TeamReview like what version of VS it is associated with and the fully qualified pathname of the assembly (C:\Program Files (x86)\TeamReview\TeamReview(2012)\TeamReview.VSNetAddIn.dll).

To get 2013 to recognize an already existing 2012 installation copy the TeamReview2012.VSNetAddIn.Addin file to TeamReview2013.VSNetAddIn.Addin and then edit it. Change Version from 11.0 to 12.0. Finally, open up RegEdit and seek to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\VisualStudio\12.0. If PreloadAddinStateManaged does not exist then create it. Finally, add a DWORD item in that key with a name of TeamReview.VSNetAddIn.Connect;C:\ProgramData\Application Data\Microsoft\MSEnvShared\Addins\TeamReview2012.VSNetAddIn.Addin and give it a value of 2. The next time that you start 2013 you will now have a TeamReview menu item in the source code right click context menu. However, it won't work. TeamReview incorrectly thinks that it is not connected to a TFS server even if when VS is happily checking connected and making use of TFS services.